get your Idaho boating license
Idaho’s Boating Course, Test and License. Animated, narrated & perfect for all ages.
USD $29.95 Only USD $19.95 Per Boater
USD $29.95 Only USD $19.95 Per Boater
Need your Idaho
BOATsmart! is the easiest and fastest way to get your Idaho State Parks and Recreation Approved Boater Education Card (or boating license). We include everything you need.
1. Take the course
Study up with the Idaho Boating Safety Course. Animated and narrated lessons put you in the captain’s seat. Anywhere, on any device and perfect for all ages.
2. Ace the test
It’s easy. Our Idaho State Parks and Recreation Approved multiple-choice test is open book with unlimited free retries. Basically, you’re guaranteed to pass and it’s good for life!
3. You’re the captain now
Once you pass the test, you can print your temporary card and use it immediately. Your permanent Idaho BoaterEducation Card, the official Idaho State boating license, will arrive by mail within four weeks.
Who needs it?
Boaters & growing
Official BOATsmart! Course
Idaho Boating Knowledge Base
Idaho Boater Card Frequently Asked Questions
DO IDAHO'S BOATERS NEED A BOATING LICENSE?
No. Currently, there is no law in Idaho that requires boaters to have an Idaho Boater Education Card. However, most other states will require you to carry a Boating License while operating a boat. So, if you become a certified boater now, you’ll be able to boat legally in other states and you’ll also receive a discount on your boat insurance. Win-win!
WILL MY BOATSMART! CARD EVER EXPIRE?
Your BOATsmart! Card will never expire. But stay in touch after you pass the test – BOATsmart! offers free, online refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating skill and knowledge up to date as years pass and boating regulations change.
WHO IS REQUIRED TO WEAR LIFE JACKETS WHEN BOATING IN IDAHO?
The only boaters REQUIRED to wear life jackets while boating in Idaho are:
Boaters 14 years of age or younger who are on board boats that are under 19 feet in length and underway.
PWC operators and passengers.
Passengers being towed being a boat (i.e. water-skiers).
HOW DO I REGISTER MY BOAT IN IDAHO?
All motorized boats in Idaho are required to be registered. To register your boat and obtain a Certificate of Number, submit an application and fee to the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation at the following address:
- The Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation
- Registration Section
- P.O. Box 83720 Boise, ID,
WHAT ARE THE LAWS FOR BOATING WITH ALCOHOL IN IDAHO?
In Idaho it is illegal to operate a boat while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Idaho boat operators will be considered to be ‘under the influence’ of alcohol if their Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher. Learn more about the risks of boating with alcohol by taking the BOATsmart! Idaho Course.
HOW CAN I ORDER A REPLACEMENT CARD?
Easily. You can order a Replacement Idaho Boater Education Card from BOATsmart! for a fee of $9.95. Simply call us toll free at 1-877-655-7778. We can hook you up!
WILL MY Idaho BOATING EDUCATION I.D. CARD BE VALID FOR BOATING IN OTHER STATES?
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 other states, which extend reciprocity to certified boaters. This law applies to operators of motorized boats (who have taken and passed a NASBLA approved boating safety course), but does not apply in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit before operating a boat or PWC there.
WHAT HAPPENS IF IT TAKES ME LONGER THAN 3-HOURS TO COMPLETE THE BOATSMART! COURSE? WILL I NEED TO START OVER?
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Knowledge Base before taking the Final Test.
WHAT ARE THE RULES FOR RENTING A PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC) IN IDAHO? AM I REQUIRED TO TAKE A BOATING SAFETY COURSE?
Yes, Idaho boaters renting a personal watercraft (PWC), commonly known as a ‘WaveRunner’, ‘SeaDoo’ or ‘Jet-ski’, will be required to take a boating safety course. Afterwards, each rider must carry the state’s verification of education card whenever operating (driving) a rented PWC. Contact Idaho Parks & Recreation for more information.
WHAT ARE IDAHO’S PENALTIES AND FINES FOR BOATERS WHO ARE CONVICTED OF OPERATING A BOAT WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS?
Boaters who are convicted of operating a boat while under the influence will face a maximum fine of up to $1,000 and/or face up to 6 months in the county jail.They may also lose the right to operate a boat for up to 2 years and be required to complete a course on safe boating. Subsequent violations will be punishable by more severe fines and penalties. Learn more about the risks of boating with alcohol by taking the Idaho Boater Safety Course.
WHO ENFORCES THE LAWS ON IDAHO’S WATERWAYS?
Idaho’s boaters are required to comply with the boating laws in place and follow any direction given by law enforcement. Learn more about Idaho’s boating laws by taking the BOATsmart! Idaho Course. Idaho’s boating law authorities include:
- The sheriffs and deputy sheriffs of the respective counties.
- The U.S. Coast Guard (on federal waters).
Boating in Idaho
Trusted and recognized from coast to coast
Get Certified and Save!
We’ve teamed up with the best outdoor, adventure and travel brands to help you get the most out of your outdoor pursuits. Your BOATsmart!, HUNTINGsmart! or ATVsmart! course fee includes free membership to Campfire Collective and instant access to exclusive partner discounts.
Campfire helps people have awesome outdoor adventures.
Campfire was founded with the belief that we’re at our best when we go to our wild. Collective membership is free. Join now to get exclusive discounts from leading outdoor brands, access high quality online courses and inspire others. Your wild awaits, go boldly.
In partnership with 1% For The Planet, Campfire pledges a percentage of our annual revenue directly to nonprofits that sustain and protect the wild.