get your West Virginia boating license
West Virginia’s Official Boating Course, Test and License. Animated, narrated & perfect for all ages.
USD $29.95 Only USD $19.95 Per Boater
USD $29.95 Only USD $19.95 Per Boater
in 1, 2, 3
BOATsmart! is the easiest and fastest way to get your West Virginia Division of Natural Resources Approved Boater Education Card (or boating license). We include everything you need.
1. Take the course
Study up with the Official West Virginia Boating Safety Course. Animated and narrated lessons put you in the captain’s seat. Anywhere, on any device and perfect for all ages.
2. Ace the test
It’s easy. Our West Virginia Division of Natural Resources Approved multiple-choice test is open book with unlimited free retries. Basically, you’re guaranteed to pass and it’s good for life!
3. You’re the captain now
Once you pass the test, you can print your temporary card and use it immediately. Your permanent West Virginia Boater Education Card, the Official West Virginia Boating License, will arrive by mail within four weeks.
Who needs it?
Boaters & growing
Official BOATsmart! Course
West Virginia Boating Knowledge Base
West Virginia Boater Card Frequently Asked Questions
DO WEST VIRGINIA BOATERS NEED A BOATING LICENSE?
Yes. If you were born after December 31, 1986 and you’re operating a boat a motorized boat or Personal Watercraft (PWC), you must have a West Virginia boating license and it must be carried on board the boat during operation. There are some great benefits to being a BOATsmart! cardholder – once you’ve obtained your BOATsmart! Card, it will be good for life, it will keep you legal when boating in other states and you’ll recieve boat insurance discounts.
WILL MY BOATSMART! CARD EVER EXPIRE?
Your BOATsmart! Card will never expire. But stay in touch after you pass the test – BOATsmart! offers free, online refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating skill and knowledge up to date as years pass and boating regulations change.
CAN I DRINK ALCOHOL WHILE BOATING IN WEST VIRGINIA?
In West Virginia it is illegal to operate any motorized boat or personal watercraft (PWC) while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination thereof. In West Virginia, boaters are considered to be under the influence if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08% or higher. Learn more about the risks of drinking and boating by taking the BOATsmart! West Virginia Boating Safety Course!
WHAT FINES AND/OR PENALTIES WILL A BOATER CAUGHT OPERATING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE FACE ON WEST VIRGINIA’S WATERS?
On a first conviction, drunk boaters will face a minimum fine of $500, and up to 6 months imprisonment. Subsequent convictions will carry heavier fines and penalties. Take the BOATsmart! West Virginia Course to learn more about the effects of alcohol on boaters and the laws for boating with alcohol in West Virginia.
WILL MY WEST VIRGINIA BOATER EDUCATION CARD BE VALID FOR BOATING IN OTHER STATES?
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 other states, which extend reciprocity to certified boaters. This law applies to operators of motorized boats (who have taken and passed a NASBLA approved boating safety course), but does not apply in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit before operating a boat or PWC there.
WHAT IS THE MINIMUM AGE A PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC) OPERATOR IS REQUIRED TO BE IN WEST VIRGINIA?
PWC operators in West Virginia are required to be at least 12 years of age. Learn more about PWC safety and handling characteristics by taking the BOATsmart! West Virginia Course.
WHAT HAPPENS IF IT TAKES ME LONGER THAN 3-HOURS TO COMPLETE THE BOATSMART! COURSE? WILL I NEED TO START OVER?
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Knowledge Base before taking the Final Test.
WHO ENFORCES WEST VIRGINIA’S BOATING LAWS?
West Virginia’s boaters must always comply with both federal and state boating laws and must follow any direction given by law enforcement. Learn more about West Virginia’s boating laws by taking the BOATsmart! West Virginia Course. West Virginia’s boating law authorities you’ll see on the water are:
- The West Virginia Department of Natural Resources Police Officers
- The U.S. Coast Guard (on federal waters)
- Any other peace officer
DO I NEED A BOATING LICENSE TO OPERATE A PWC (I.E. WAVE RUNNER OR JET SKI) IN WEST VIRGINIA?
Yes, PWC operators must comply with West Virginia’s Boater Education requirements to successfully complete an approved boating safety course and and carry their West Virginia Boater Education Card.
DO I NEED TO WEAR A LIFE JACKET WHEN BOATING IN WEST VIRGINIA?
The only boaters required to WEAR their life jackets in the state of West Virginia are:
- Children 12 years of age and under while underway on the deck of any vessel.
- PWC operators and passengers.
- Passengers being towed by a boat or PWC.
Trusted and recognized from coast to coast
Get Certified and Save!
We’ve teamed up with the best outdoor, adventure and travel brands to help you get the most out of your outdoor pursuits. Your BOATsmart!, HUNTINGsmart! or ATVsmart! course fee includes free membership to Campfire Collective and instant access to exclusive partner discounts.
Campfire helps people have awesome outdoor adventures.
Campfire was founded with the belief that we’re at our best when we go to our wild. Collective membership is free. Join now to get exclusive discounts from leading outdoor brands, access high quality online courses and inspire others. Your wild awaits, go boldly.
In partnership with 1% For The Planet, Campfire pledges a percentage of our annual revenue directly to nonprofits that sustain and protect the wild.