All boats in Florida are required to carry a Coast Guard-approved life jacket for each person aboard the boat. Additionally, boats 16 feet in length or greater must also carry a readily accessible, Coast Guard-approved throwable device (i.e. a Type IV PFD).
Children’s Life Jacket LaW
In Florida, passengers 6 years of age and under must wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket. This is the requirement while on board any boat that is underway and under 26 feet in length. If the boat is anchored, moored, made fast to the shore, or aground, then it’s not considered ‘underway’.
Personal Watercraft (PWC) Life Jacket Law
Any person aboard a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket at all times. Inflatable life jackets are not permitted.
Towing Sports Life Jacket Laws
Any person being towed behind a boat is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not permitted.
Get your Official Florida
Boating License today!
BOATsmart! is the easiest and fastest way to get your Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission Approved Florida Boating Safety Education Card (or boating license).
Florida’s Muffler and Noise Level Laws
A noise muffling device is required in Florida. Enforcement authorities can request that a boat owner submit to a sound level test. Refusal to submit to a sound level test is punishable by a second degree misdemeanour.
The use of exhaust cutouts are not permitted, unless the boat is competing in a regatta or official boat race.
Mufflers on Airboats
In the state of Florida, the exhaust of every engine used on an airboat must be muffled with one of the following:
- An automotive type factory muffler.
- An underwater exhaust.
- Another device that is capable of muffling the sound of the engine exhaust.