BOATsmart! is the easiest and fastest way to get your Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Approved Boater Education Card (or boating license). We include everything you need.
Study up with the Official Mississippi Boating Safety Course. Animated and narrated lessons put you in the captain’s seat. Anywhere, on any device and perfect for all ages.
It’s easy. Our Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Approved multiple-choice test is open book with unlimited free retries. Basically, you’re guaranteed to pass and it’s good for life!
Once you pass the test, you can print your temporary card and use it immediately. Your permanent Mississippi Boater Education Card will arrive by mail within four weeks.
|Limited Time Pricing||$19.95||$34.95|
|Course Access||Lifetime||90 Days|
|Get Licensed in 3 Hours (Average)|
|Animated, Narrated & Perfect for All Ages|
|Live In-Course Support|
|Access to Exclusive Partner Discounts|
|Unlimited Test Retries|
|100% Satisfaction Guarantee|
|1% For the Planet Member|
Born after June 30, 1980? You must have a Mississippi Boater Education Card to operate any motorized watercraft in Mississippi.
Animated, narrated & perfect for all ages.
Our animated, narrated and interactive lessons guide your learning experience and help you pass.
The BOATsmart!® Course includes all the knowledge you need to pass the test and boat with confidence.
BOATsmart!® automatically tracks your progress on any device. Take it anywhere, anytime.
Designed by boaters and subject matter experts just for you.
Yes. If you were born after June 30, 1980 and are operating a motorized boat, you must have a Mississippi boating license and it must be carried on board the boat during operation.
Your BOATsmart! Card will never expire. But stay in touch after you pass the test – BOATsmart! offers free, online refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating skill and knowledge up to date as years pass and boating regulations change.
Yes, in Mississippi this card is required if you were born after June 30, 1980 and are operating a motorized boat powered. Most other states and most of Canada’s provinces and territories also require boaters to carry a Boater Education Card, more commonly known as a ‘Boating License’. Get the Card and you’ll be good to go boating in most of North America.
Yes, your BOATsmart! Card is the same as a Mississippi Boater Education Card. In Mississippi the ‘Card’ is commonly referred to as a ‘Boating License’, although this is not the correct term.
Yes! If you’re the type who would like to take a classroom course in boating safety, you can. Contact the Mississippi Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks for more information about registering for a classroom course in your area.
The only boaters required to WEAR their life jackets in the state of Mississippi are:
Children 12 years of age and under who are on boats under 26 feet in length that are underway.
PWC operators and passengers.
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 other states, which extend reciprocity to certified boaters. This law applies to operators of motorized boats (who have taken and passed a NASBLA approved boating safety course), but does not apply in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit before operating a boat or PWC there.
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Knowledge Base before taking the Final Test.
Mississippi’s boaters must always comply with both federal and state boating laws and must follow any direction given by law enforcement. Learn more about Mississippi boating laws by taking the BOATsmart! Mississippi Course. Mississippi’s boating law authorities you’ll see on the water are:
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Officers.
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources Officers.
The Coast Guard (on federal waters).
Other authorized peace officers.
In Mississippi it is illegal to operate any boat powered by an engine or more than 25hp, or personal watercraft (PWC) while under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances or other illegal chemicals. In Mississippi, boaters are considered to be under the influence if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08% or higher. Learn more about the risks of drinking and boating by taking the BOATsmart! Mississippi Boating Safety Course!
No matter which activity you choose, with over 280,000 acres of lakes and reservoirs, and the endless twisting river, not to mention the sandy stretches of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, your next boating adventure is never far away.