Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Get Your Official Ohio Boating License

The Official Ohio Boating Course, Test and License is required for boaters born on or after January 1, 1982. Designed for North American Boaters from coast-to-coast.
GET YOUR LICENSE Animated, narrated & perfect for all ages.
Excellent! BOATsmart! has a student verified rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars

Need Your Ohio Boating License?

BOATsmart! is the easiest and fastest way to get your Ohio DNR, Division of Parks & Watercraft Approved Boater Education Card. We include everything you need.

1. Study Online

Study up with the Official Ohio Boating Safety Course. Animated and narrated lessons put you in the captain’s seat. Anywhere, on any device and perfect for all ages.

2. Ace the test

It’s easy. Our Ohio DNR, Division of Parks & Watercraft Approved multiple-choice test has unlimited free retries. Basically, you’re guaranteed to pass and it’s good for life!

3. Get on the water

Once you pass the test, you can print your temporary card and use it immediately. Your permanent Ohio Boater Education Card will arrive by mail.

The Best Boating Course. Period.

  Other Courses
Limited Time Pricing$29.95$34.95
Course AccessLifetime90 Days
Get Licensed in 3 Hours (Average)
Animated, Narrated & Perfect for All Ages
Live Customer Support
Access to Exclusive Partner Discounts
Unlimited Test Retries
100% Satisfaction Guarantee
1% For the Planet Member

675,149 Certified

Proud to be North America’s Boating Educator. Join the crew!

Do you need a license to drive a boat?

Ohio law requires boaters born on or after January 1, 1982, to successfully complete either a boating course or a proficiency exam in order to operate a boat or PWC more than 10 horsepower.

Try the test for free

Not sure what to expect? Try the Practice Test for free and test your knowledge.
Try it now

Try the test for free

Not sure what to expect? Try the Practice Test for free and test your knowledge.
Try it now

Watch, listen
& learn

Animated, narrated & perfect for all ages.

Animated lessons
make it easy

Our animated, narrated and interactive lessons guide your learning experience and help you pass.

Everything you need

The BOATsmart!® Course includes all the knowledge you need to pass the test and boat with confidence.

Study at your
own pace

BOATsmart!® automatically tracks your progress on any device. Take it anywhere, anytime.

Designed for all ages
& skill levels

Designed by boaters and subject matter experts just for you.

Made for boaters,
by boaters


BOATsmart! has a rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 6405 ratings and reviews.

Ohio Boating
Knowledge Base

ohio Boater Card
Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to have a license to drive a boat in Ohio?
There are age limits and education requirements for driving a boat. 

Boaters who operate vessels powered by greater than 10 horsepower and who were born on or after January 1, 1982, are required to successfully complete a NASBLA-approved boating course or a proficiency exam.


There are age restrictions for persons operating a personal watercraft (PWC), commonly known as a ‘WaveRunner’, ‘SeaDoo’ or ‘Jet-ski’.  Those under the age of 12 can not operate a PWC.  Children between the ages of 12 and 15 can operate an PWC if they have an Ohio Boater Education Card and have an adult (age 18+) on board with them. Those age 16 and up can operate a PWC if they have an Ohio Boater Education Card.




Yes! The BOATsmart! Ohio Boater Education Card is accepted in 40 states, which extend reciprocity. This means the BOATsmart! Boating Safety Course meets the National Standards established by NASBLA. This law applies to operators of motorized boats, but not in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit prior to operating a boat or a PWC there.


In Ohio you are required to wear a life jacket in the following cases:

if you are operating a personal watercraft

if you are waterskiing or being towed on a similar device

if you are under 10 years of age on any vessel less than 18 feet in length

How do I register my boat in Ohio?


Registrations are required for every recreational boat in Ohio, including powerboats, sailboats, canoes, kayaks, pedal boats, and inflatable boats.

You can find information on how to register your boat through the Ohio DNR Division of Parks & Watercraft website.


WILL MY BOATSMART! Ohio Boater Education Card EVER EXPIRE?


Never. Your Ohio Boater Education Card will be good for life. But make sure you visit us after you pass the test. BOATsmart! offers free refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating knowledge up to date!


Boating in Ohio

Trusted and recognized from coast to coast

Ohios ‘back yard’ is an awesome playground for outdoor enthusiasts and during the warm weather season, it’s all about the boating!



Go boldly, tell your story. Campfire is building a collective of ambassadors who share a passion for the wild. If you’re an influencer, publisher or sport expert drop us a line. Let’s hook up and inspire others.



Stay in the loop. Sign up for our newsletter
to get the latest stories from around the fire.