get your oklahoma boating license
Oklahoma’s Official Boating Course, Test and License. Animated, narrated & perfect for all ages.
644,974 Courses Completed and Counting
“It’s all about freedom. no roads, no lines, no boundaries to guide my adventures.”
Made by boaters, for boaters.
Go boating today
Anywhere, any device
in 1, 2, 3
BOATsmart! is the easiest and fastest way to get your Oklahoma Highway Patrol Approved Boater Education Card (or boating license). We include everything you need.
1. Take the course
Study up with the Official Oklahoma Boating Safety Course. Animated and narrated lessons put you in the captain’s seat. Anywhere, on any device and perfect for all ages.
2. Ace the test
It’s easy. Our Oklahoma Highway Patroll Approved multiple-choice test is open book with unlimited free retries. Basically, you’re guaranteed to pass and it’s good for life!
3. You’re the captain now
Once you pass the test, you can print your temporary card and use it immediately. Your permanent Oklahoma Boater Education Card, the Official Oklahoma Boating License, will arrive by mail within four weeks.
Who needs it?
Boaters & growing
Official BOATsmart! Course
Boating Knowledge Base
Trusted and recognized from coast to coast
Boating in Washington
Get Certified and Save!
We’ve teamed up with the best outdoor, adventure and travel brands to help you get the most out of your outdoor pursuits. Your BOATsmart!, HUNTINGsmart! or ATVsmart! course fee includes free membership to Campfire Collective and instant access to exclusive partner discounts.
Campfire helps people have awesome outdoor adventures.
Campfire was founded with the belief that we’re at our best when we go to our wild. Collective membership is free. Join now to get exclusive discounts from leading outdoor brands, access high quality online courses and inspire others. Your wild awaits, go boldly.
The most asked questions by our customers
DO BOATERS IN OKLAHOMA NEED A BOATER EDUCATION CARD?
In Oklahoma, boaters between 12-15 years of age fall under the state law requiring mandatory Boater Education. This law applies to boaters in this age bracket who are operating motorized boats powered by an engine of 10 horsepower or greater as well as sailboats that are 16 feet in length or greater. By completing and passing the BOATsmart! Oklahoma Boater Safety Course, you’ll meet Oklahoma’s state requirements for boaters.
WILL MY BOATSMART! CARD EVER EXPIRE?
Your BOATsmart! Card will never expire. But stay in touch after you pass the test – BOATsmart! offers free, online refresher lessons that will help you keep your boating skill and knowledge up to date as years pass and boating regulations change.
DO BOATERS IN OKLAHOMA NEED TO HAVE A DRIVER’S LICENSE IF THEY’RE OPERATING A BOAT WITH AN ATTACHED MOTOR?
No, a driver’s license is not required to operate a motorized boat in Oklahoma. However, you may be required to carry a Boater Education Card on board at all times while operating a motorized boat, depending on your age and the horsepower of your boat’s motor.
WHAT DOES IT MEAN IF I SEE A ‘NO WAKE’ SPEED SIGN ON OKLAHOMA WATERS?
In Oklahoma, or in any state, if you encounter a ‘Slow- No Wake’ or ‘No Wake’ sign on the waterway, you must slow down so as not to cause a wake by the speed of your boat. This is the case in areas with fragile shorelines, waterway zones frequented by swimmers and paddle craft, etc.
WHAT IS THE PENALTY IN OKLAHOMA FOR OPERATING A MOTORIZED BOAT WITHOUT A BOATER EDUCATION CARD?
If you’re required to have an Oklahoma Boater Education Certificate and you’re caught operating a boat on state waters without one, you will recieve a fine from Oklahoma law enforcement. Avoid the fine, get certified with your BOATsmart! Boater Education Card today!
IS IT ILLEGAL IN OKLAHOMA TO OPERATE A BOAT WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE?
Yes. In Oklahoma, a boat operator’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level cannot exceed 0.10%. If determined by a blood or breath test administered by law enforcement that the boat operator is under the influence of alcohol, the boater will be subject to the state’s applicable fines and penalties. Keep the waters safe, never drink and drive.
WILL MY WASHINGTON BOATING EDUCATION I.D. CARD BE VALID FOR BOATING IN OTHER STATES?
Yes! The BOATsmart! Card is accepted in 40 other states, which extend reciprocity to certified boaters. This law applies to operators of motorized boats (who have taken and passed a NASBLA approved boating safety course), but does not apply in all states to operators of personal watercraft (PWCs). Always check the boating laws in the state you plan to visit before operating a boat or PWC there.
WHAT HAPPENS IF IT TAKES ME LONGER THAN 3-HOURS TO COMPLETE THE BOATSMART! COURSE? WILL I NEED TO START OVER?
The 3-hour timer is only a minimum requirement. You’re free to spend as much time as you need in the BOATsmart! Knowledge Base before taking the Final Test.
DO I NEED TO REGISTER MY BOAT IN OKLAHOMA?
Yes, motorized boats owned by residents of Oklahoma must be registered. The only exemptions to this rule are human-powered craft, like canoes and kayaks, boats documented by the U.S. Coast Guard, boats used for racing purposes and boats registered in other states that are only using Oklahoma waters for 60 days or less.
DO I NEED TO WEAR A LIFE JACKET IF I’M GOING WATER-SKIING IN OKLAHOMA?
Yes. In Oklahoma, anyone being towed behind a boat on a tube, a wakeboard, water-skis, etc, is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket. No exceptions.
I LIVE IN ANOTHER COUNTRY. DO I NEED AN OKLAHOMA BOATER EDUCATION CARD TO GO BOATING IN OKLAHOMA IF I’M VISITING THE STATE?
A Boater Education Card or Boating License, issued to a non-resident by their state or country will be accepted by law enforcement in Oklahoma. Just make sure the Card or certificate is carried on board during boat operation.
ON OKLAHOMA’S WATERWAYS, WHO ISSUES FINES AND ENFORCES THE STATE’S BOATING LAWS?
Boaters in Oklahoma are required to comply with the state boating laws, including the requirement to carry a Boater Education Card if you’re required to. Oklahoma’s lakes and rivers are regularly patrolled by law enforcement to keep the waters a safe and enjoyable place. There are three boating law authorities in Oklahoma:
- Officers of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Division
- The U.S. Coast Guard (on federal waters)
- Lake Patrol Section Troopers
In partnership with 1% For The Planet, Campfire pledges a percentage of our annual revenue directly to nonprofits that sustain and protect the wild.