ARIZONA BOATER EDUCATION CARD
Your Arizona Boater Education Card is NOT the same thing as your Arizona driver’s license. The Card, or “boating license”, is proof that you have taken a Boating Safety Course and is not required for operators of motorized boats on Arizona waters. However, all boaters should receive a Boating Safety Education to keep the state waters safe for everyone enjoying them.
OBTAINING YOUR ARIZONA BOATING LICENSE
Become a certified boater by simply taking the online BOATsmart! Arizona Course right here! Register today and you’ll be on the water with confidence in just a few hours!
LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS IN ARIZONA
In Arizona, all boat types (except sailboards) are required to carry one, Coast Guard approved, wearable life jacket or PFD for each passenger on board the boat.
Although adults are not required to wear life jackets when boating in AZ, you should always WEAR IT Arizona!
In the state of Arizona, children 12 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard approved life jacket when underway on any boat .
Parents, always make sure your child’s life jacket is properly secured and in good condition. It’s the law for kids to WEAR IT!
BOATING AND ALCOHOL IN ARIZONA
In Arizona it’s illegal to operate any boat while under the influence of an intoxicating substance, such as drugs and/or alcohol.
A boat operator is considered to be ‘under the influence’ if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher.
A person convicted of operating a boat while under the influence in Arizona may be fined up to $3,150 and may receive up to 45 days in jail. Don’t take the risk boaters! Stay sober to stay safe and to avoid facing these penalties.
BOAT ACCIDENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS IN ARIZONA
If you’ve been involved in a boat accident in the state of Arizona, you are required to submit a Boat Accident Report to the Arizona Fish and Wildlife Department. The report must be submitted within 48 hours if a person was injured or killed as a result of the accident.
If the accident resulted in property damage exceeding $500, you are required to submit your accident report within 5 days.
For more information and to obtain an official Boat Accident Report Form, contact the Arizona Game and Fish Department.
ARIZONA GAME AND FISH DEPARTMENT CONTACT INFORMATION
The BOATsmart! Arizona Boating License Course has been approved by the Arizona Game and Fish Department. For more information, you can contact the Department at:
Arizona Game and Fish Department
5000 W. Carefree Highway
Phoenix, AZ 85086-5000