Who needs a Boater Education ID Card in Colorado?
Persons who are 14 or 15 years old may only operate a vessel if they have successfully completed a boating safety course that is approved by the Colorado Boating Law Administrator or have in their possession a boating safety certificate issued by an approved course provider.
A person under 14 years of age may not operate any motorboat or personal watercraft on Colorado’s waters.
A person 16 years of age or older may operate a motorboat or personal watercraft on Colorado’s public waters.
Get your Official North American
The Official NASBLA and State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.
Get your Official North American
The Official NASBLA and State-Approved Canada Boating
Course, Test & License.
COLORADO’S LIFE VEST REQUIREMENTS
The personal flotation device (PFD) is one of the most important items required on any boat. Boaters must carry one wearable PFD for each person on board. If the boat is more than 16 feet in length, an additional throwable device is required. As of July 1, 2003 children 12 years of age and younger are required to wear a PFD whenever their vessel is on the water, except when they are in an enclosed cabin or below deck. For more information, see the Colorado Boating Statutes and Regulations – Statue 33-13-106 (4.5) Equipment requirements.
All required PFDs must be U.S. Coast Guard-approved, readily available to passengers and in good condition. Each must be the proper size to fit the person for whom they are intended.
The U.S. Coast Guard approves five different types of PFDs. View Life Vest Information and Illustrations.
COLORADO BOATING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWCS)
Persons who are 14 or 15 years old may only operate a personal watercraft if they have successfully completed a boating safety course that is approved by the Colorado Boating Law Administrator or have in their possession a boating safety certificate issued by an approved course provider.
BOATING AND ALCOHOL
Colorado law prohibits anyone from boating under the influence (BUI) that is operating any vessel propelled by a motor or sail, including all paddlecraft or manipulating water skis, aquaplanes or similar devices, while under the influence.
Colorado law states that a person is considered to be boating under the influence if he or she has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater or is under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance.
The penalty for a first conviction of boating under the influence is mandatory jail time of at least 5 days, not to exceed 180 days. A fine of $100 to $1000 laos may be added by the court but is not mandatory. The convicted person also will lose operating privileges for three months.
COLORADO’S BOAT ACCIDENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
A vessel operator involved in a boating accident must report the accident to Colorado State Parks within five days after the date of the accident if the accident caused:
- Loss of life or disappearance from a vessel or …
- An injury which required medical treatment beyond first aid or …
- Damage to the vessel(s) or other property exceeding $500.
Accidents should be reported on accident report forms available from Colorado State Parks. All reports must be submitted to:
Failure to report a boating accident is a misdemeanor.
VERMONT DMV CONTACT INFORMATION
For more information about safe boating in Colorado, contact:
Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation
Colorado State Parks
13787 South Highway 85
Littleton, Colorado 80125