Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
< Back to Boating
Campfire Collective Sep 9th, 2017

Kansas Boating Laws and Regulations

 KANSAS BOATER EDUCATION CARD

A Kansas Boater Education Card, more commonly known as a “boating license” is a card that proves you have taken an approved Boating Safety Course. In Kansas, a boating license is required for any boater who is between the ages of 12-20 years old, is unaccompanied on the boat and is operating a motorized boat, sailboat or PWC. However, it’s a good idea for ALL boaters and paddlers to receive a Boating Safety Education to keep Kansas’ waters safe for everyone out there enjoying them.

OBTAINING YOUR KANSAS BOATING LICENSE

By taking the online BOATsmart! Course right here! Register for the BOATsmart! Kansas Course today and you’ll be on the water with confidence in just a few hours!

Get your Official Kansas
Boating License

The Official NASBLA and Kansas State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.

Get your Official Kansas
Boating License

The Official NASBLA and Kansas State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.

LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS IN KANSAS

In Kansas, all boats are required to carry one, Coast Guard Approved, wearable life jacket or PFD for each passenger on board the boat and/or being towed by the boat.

Additionally, boats greater than 16 feet in length (except canoes and kayaks) are also required to carry one, Coast Guard Approved, Type IV (throwable) device on board the boat at all times.

Adult boaters are not required to wear life jackets when boating. However, our suggestion is to always WEAR IT Kansas!

In the state of Kansas, children 12 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard approved, Type I, II or III life jacket when underway on any boat, or while being towed by a boat.

Parents, always make sure your child’s life jacket is properly secured and in good condition. It’s the law for kids to WEAR IT!

BOATING AND ALCOHOL

It’s illegal in Kansas to operate any boat (including any type of paddle craft) while under the influence of an intoxicating substance, such as drugs and/or alcohol.

A boat operator in Kansas will be considered to be under the influence if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher at the time of operation, within 2 hours of operating, or within 2 hours of attempting to operate a boat.

In Kansas, a person convicted of operating a boat while under the influence will face up to a $500 fine, and up to 1 year in prison.

BOAT ACCIDENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS IN KANSAS

If you’ve been involved in a boating accident in Kansas, you’ll be required to notify the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism immediately.

Contact the Pratt Office at 620-672-5911 or call your local law authorities. For more information about reporting boating accidents in Kansas, including when you are required to report an accident in Kansas, contact the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism.

KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE, PARKS AND TOURISM INFORMATION

The BOATsmart! Kansas Boating License Course has been approved by the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism. For more information, you can contact the Department at at:

Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism
512 SE 25th Ave.
Pratt, KS 67124
(620) 672-5911
http://www.kdwpt.state.ks.us

You Might Also Like

LET'S WORK TOGETHER

 

Go boldly, tell your story. Campfire is building a collective of ambassadors who share a passion for the wild. If you’re an influencer, publisher or sport expert drop us a line. Let’s hook up and inspire others.

CAMPFIRE STORIES

 

Stay in the loop. Sign up for our newsletter
to get the latest stories from around the fire.