< Back to Boating
Campfire Collective Sep 16th, 2016

New Mexico Boating Laws and Regulations

Beach-goers on the shore of a New Mexico lake.

NEW MEXICO BOATER EDUCATION CARD

A New Mexico Boater Education Card is not the same thing as a driver’s licence. The card, commonly known as a “boating license”, simply proves that you have taken a Boating Safety Course and is required for any motorized boat operators who were born on or after Jan. 1st, 1989. However, all boaters should receive a Boating Safety Education to keep the state waters safe for everyone out there enjoying them.

OBTAINING YOUR NEW MEXICO BOATING LICENSE

Become a certified boater by simply taking the online BOATsmart! New Mexico Course right here on this website. Register today and get on the water in just a few hours!

BOATsmart! docking course content on tablet with New Mexico Boater Education card.
BOATsmart! New Mexico Boater Education card.

Get your Official New Mexico
Boating License

The Official NASBLA and New Mexico State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.

Get your Official New Mexico
Boating License

The Official NASBLA and New Mexico State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.

LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS IN NEW MEXICO

In New Mexico, all boats are required to carry one, Coast Guard approved, wearable life jacket or PFD for each passenger on board the boat.

Although adults are not required to wear life jackets when boating in this state, you are required to carry one with you at alL times when boating or paddling and we believe you should always WEAR IT!

In New Mexico, children 12 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard approved life jacket when underway on any boat. This includes paddle craft, sailboats and PWCs!

Parents, always make sure your child’s life jacket is properly secured and in good condition. It’s the law for kids to WEAR IT!

BOATING AND ALCOHOL

In New Mexico it is illegal to operate any boat while under the influence of an intoxicating substance, such as drugs and/or alcohol.

A boat operator is considered to be ‘under the influence’ if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher.

A person convicted of operating a boat while under the influence in New Mexico may be fined up to $500 and may receive up to 90 days in jail. Don’t take the risk boaters! Stay sober to stay safe and to avoid facing these penalties.

BOAT ACCIDENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS IN NEW MEXICO

If you’ve been involved in a boat accident on New Mexico’s waters, you are required to immediately report the accident to New Mexico State Parks.

For more information and to obtain an official Boat Accident Report Form, contact New Mexico State Parks.

NEW MEXICO STATE PARKS CONTACT INFORMATION

The BOATsmart! New Mexico Boating License Course has been approved by New Mexico State Parks. For more information, you can contact the Department at:

New Mexico State Parks
1220 South St. Francis Drive, P.O. Box 1147
Santa Fe, NM 87505
(505) 476-3355
http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us

You Might Also Like

Campfire Collective truck icon.

LET'S WORK TOGETHER

 

Go boldly, tell your story. Campfire is building a collective of ambassadors who share a passion for the wild. If you’re an influencer, publisher or sport expert drop us a line. Let’s hook up and inspire others.

Campfire Collective high five icon.

CAMPFIRE STORIES

 

Stay in the loop. Sign up for our newsletter
to get the latest stories from around the fire.

Campfire_Collective_Black_Logo-1-1
Campfire_Collective_Small_Logo