< Back to Boating
Campfire Collective Sep 8th, 2016

Ohio Boating Laws and Regulations

Fall on an Ohio lake.

OHIO BOATER EDUCATION CARD

An Ohio Boater Education Card, commonly known as a “boating license”, is proof that you have taken an official boating safety course and have gained the boating skills you need to operate a boat safely on Ohio’s public waterways. All Ohio boaters born after Jan. 1, 1982, are required to have an Ohio Boater Education Card in order to legally operate a boat on state waters.

OBTAINING YOUR OHIO BOATING LICENSE

Get your Ohio Boating License today by signing up for the online BOATsmart! Course. Register for the BOATsmart! Ohio Course, pass the test and you’ll be enjoying Ohio’s waterways in just a few hours.

BOATsmart! docking course content on tablet with Ohio Boater Education card.
BOATsmart! Ohio Boater Education card.

Get your Official Ohio
Boating License

The Official NASBLA and Ohio State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.

Get your Official Ohio
Boating License

The Official NASBLA and Ohio State-Approved Boating Course, Test & License.

LIFE JACKET REQUIREMENTS IN OHIO

All boats under 16 feet in length that are operating on Ohio’s waters (including kayaks and canoes of any length) are required to carry one, Coast Guard approved, wearable life jacket or PFD for each passenger on board boat. Although adults are not required to wear life jackets when boating, our suggestion is to always WEAR IT Ohio! Especially if you’re boating in remote, cold or rough water areas.

Additionally, boats greater than 16 feet in length are also required to carry one, Coast Guard Approved, Type IV (throwable) device on board the boat at all times.

In Ohio, children 10 years of age and under are required to wear a Coast Guard approved life jacket when underway on any boat that is 18 feet in length or under. It’s the law to make sure your children’s life jackets are properly secured and in good condition. WEAR IT!

BOATING AND ALCOHOL

In Ohio, it is illegal to operate any boat (including any type of paddle craft) while under the influence of an intoxicating substance, such as drugs and/or alcohol.

Boat operators on Ohio waters will be considered to be under the influence if they have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher, or 0.02 or higher, if the boater is under 21 years of age.

Upon a first conviction in Ohio, a drunk boat operator will receive a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

BOAT ACCIDENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS IN OHIO

If you’ve been involved in a boat accident in Ohio, you are required to submit a Boat Accident Report to the Recreational Boating Accident Manager at the Ohio DNR, Division of Watercraft.

If a boat passenger is injured and required medical treatment beyond first aid or if there is property damage exceeding $500, you must submit the formal Boat Accident Report within 5 days of the occurence. Stay safe out there boaters!

Contact the Ohio DNR, Division of Watercraft for information about boat accident reporting requirements in Ohio and obtaining an official Boat Accident Report Form.

OHIO DNR, DIVISION OF WATERCRAFT CONTACT INFORMATION

The BOATsmart! Ohio Boating License Course has been approved by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft. For more information, contact the Department at:

Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft
1-877-4BOATER
2045 Morse Road Building A
Columbus, OH
43229
http://watercraft.ohiodnr.gov

You Might Also Like

Campfire Collective truck icon.

LET'S WORK TOGETHER

 

Go boldly, tell your story. Campfire is building a collective of ambassadors who share a passion for the wild. If you’re an influencer, publisher or sport expert drop us a line. Let’s hook up and inspire others.

Campfire Collective high five icon.

CAMPFIRE STORIES

 

Stay in the loop. Sign up for our newsletter
to get the latest stories from around the fire.

Campfire_Collective_Black_Logo-1-1
Campfire_Collective_Small_Logo